Florida Department of Health Medical Card FAQs
What is a registry identification card?
Unlike states with recreational marijuana, Florida requires a valid, state-issued medical card. What is more, you need to have an active weed card to legally use or have medical cannabis on your person. If the police catch you with weed, even if it is medical, not having a card with you notably improves your chances of legal problems.
To begin the process of how to get a medical card in Florida, you first schedule a visit with us. Specifically, you must find a doctor to recommend medical marijuana as a good treatment option for you. Let our doctors register you to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
First, we review your medical history and medical records, if any. Second, we focus on the status of your qualifying condition and wellness goals. This is how our licensed, medical weed doctor determines if you're qualified. Third, based on the assessment, we design your cannabis prescription. Fourth, we enroll you in the Registry with your medical cannabis order. Finally, we submit your patient application to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU). After the state sends your med card approval notice, you are then able to purchase medical marijuana.
How much does it cost to get a medical marijuana ID card?
The state charges a $75 medical card application fee (they accept credit cards online). But before you can send your application and payment, you need a visit for a prescription from a licensed Florida weed doctor. KindHealth Florida medical weed doctors offer the lowest prices in Miami to Florida residents. To this end, we only charge $189 for our medical card exam. Also, we do not charge any hidden charges or extra fees.
To put this into perspective, a med card assessment in Miami cost, on average, $250. So, you can save $65, give or take, by allowing us to help you obtain and maintain an active MMJ Florida weed card. What is more, we also provide full 210-day refills to our valued patients since Florida law only allows us to prescribe a 70-day supply of low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana at a time.
And if you’re a service-connected member or veteran, KindHealth Florida cannabis doctors give a $40 discount off the initial price. So, for service-connected patients, medical card recommendations at KindHealth Florida are just $149.
How long does it take to get a medical card in Florida?
KindHealth commits to ensuring you receive your doctor's approval as quickly as possible. Of note, MMJ Florida med cards are issued and mailed to you by the state. We streamline your cannabis visit, the state's processing time is out of our hands. So the time it takes to receive your physical medical card in the mail is up to the state of Florida.
It now takes, on average, two to four weeks for patients to receive their Florida medical marijuana card from the state.
You'll get a cannabis prescription and patient ID number from KindHealth weed doctor. Then you then need to submit a medical card application to the Florida OMMU. We help you with this process. It requires paying a $75 application processing fee and can take five business days to process.
It can take another five days for your medical card status to be approved and reflected on the state registry. The Florida OMMU will then send your physical medical card in the mail to your location. Once you get an approval notice, you can visit any Florida weed store. You can buy your medicine from any of the medical marijuana treatment centers. The state requires annual renewal by the expiration date on the card. We suggest you renew it 30 - 45 days prior.